Why I Want to Die Empty.

empty jarNote: I recommend you read this post slow and let it sink in.

When I initially penned the title of this post I thought it may be a little morbid. And it probably is.

To be honest I don’t intend to offend anyone – but I do want to share my truth.

A lot of people have asked me why I started this blog – and the topic of this blogpost provides a large part of that answer.

It’s because I want to die empty.

I want to make sure that when my day comes – I have nothing left to give this world. That there is nothing left in my tank.

I want to make sure that every bit of creativity I have within me has been spoken out, written, sung or performed.

I want to make sure that every God-given idea I’ve been gifted has been prayed upon and explored.

I want to make sure that every word of encouragement or inspiring thought I can share with others, is shared with others.

I want to make sure that every ounce of my love for my wife is completely expended.

I want to make sure that my faith is whole-heartedly lived out.

I want to die empty.

And I want you to die empty too.

You see the thing that holds a lot of us back is the same thing that could move us all forward. Fear.

We all generally have a fear of regret and a fear of failure, and one will overcome the other depending on which one we allow to affect us.

Our fear of regret HAS to overshadow our fear of failure – because when all is said and done – failure is  not gonna be our biggest disappointment. Regret is.

Fear regret – more than you fear failure. Turn your FULL life (of talent, creativity, wisdom) – into an empty death.

So –

remember that poem in your heart that you wanted to write…

that great business idea that you wanted to start…

that piece of art you dreamed of painting…

that building or piece of furniture you wanted to build…

that epic movie that you wanted to make…

Now is your time to make it happen.

Now is your time to start your journey toward dying empty.

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/9110803@N08/5377485512/

5 Comments

Filed under Faith, Inspiration, Life

5 responses to “Why I Want to Die Empty.

  1. Cory

    What a great perspective on emptiness!

  2. Marisa

    Awesome post Jesse – very inspiring!

  3. Michel

    Just added this to my links worth saving on Delicious. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

